Parenting 2.0

Our Little Krasnoludek

Posted on: October 29, 2009

Upon marrying a Pole I have learned a few Polish words over the past 11 years. Niko’s birth has helped expand my vocabulary even further. He now has Ciocia Ola (Aunt Ola) and a dziadzio [pronounced: JAH-jaw] (Grandpa). In his first few weeks of life Dziadzio started calling Niko “Krasnoludek”. Seeing as this was a new word for me, I did not catch on that this is what he was calling my son. I hear Polish so often and barely understand a word of it, so I usually just don’t pay much attention to what is being said, seeing as the language is mostly unrecognizable to me. (The only words I actually know are: thank you, turtle, window, I love you, how are you, hello, and a few others that I do not feel comfortable writing the English equivalent of…)

It was only the next day when I heard Borys affectionately calling him Krasnoludek as well, that I noticed the word and asked him what it meant. Basically this is the Polish term for a common garden gnome. Anyway, it stuck and now we call him Krasnoludek all the time: our little krasnoludek.krasnoludek

7 Responses to "Our Little Krasnoludek"

TOO CUTE! I find it funny that out of the 5 words you know, one of them is turtle. When does that ever come up in conversation? Do you regularly reference turtles?

It was so nice meeting your garden gnome….I think you should get him a little statue!

Love you too krasnoludek! (this is how I am pronouncing it….KRAH-Z-NO-LOO-DECK)

your pronunciation c’est perfecto!

Hahahah! My mom and I get a kick out of all your polish stories.

[…] to learn all three. But seeing as I don’t speak much Polish – well let’s face it, I can probably count the number words I can say using just my fingers – the process of teaching Polish to Niko would be left completely in Borys’ hands. On […]

[…] have butchered the spelling on it…), doll-face, cute little guy, little man, little grandpa, krasnoludek (Polish for a common garden gnome), cute little man, stinkster, Niko-Frederico, and probably many […]

[…] The English-Polish translation came from an online translator, and seeing as my Polish is limited I’m crossing my fingers in hopes that it says what’s actually intended: Hi little Emi. […]

[…] other and overall got on quite famously. Or maybe they were just cooing in baby-speak, either way I couldn’t understand a word of it? Anyway, it was great to see them all, and have the whole family together. Emi even […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

