Parenting 2.0

The Vaccine: H1N1 4Every1?

Posted on: October 27, 2009

There has been so much hype in the news/media about H1N1: some may say too much.  Yesterday was the first day that the vaccine was available in Ottawa and Borys strongly encouraged me to go get vaccinated.  It is not available to babies under six months of age, but their caregivers (such as me) are encouraged to get it.  The vaccination clinic closest to me, opened at 2:30pm and I aimed to be there early, and despite having to get creative with my parking spot and traveling with Niko I arrived at the already overcrowded community centre clinic and took a number by 2:20pm.  At that time (even ten minutes early) I was already number 220! So, wait and wait and wait I did.

After about an hour of waiting some woman asked me if I was alone with my baby.  I said yes and she gave me ticket number 100.  I have no idea where she got it from, but to jump over a 100 spots with a baby on the verge of hunger was a wonderful surprise.  Despite all the crowds, most people seemed to be in a patient mood.  Another woman gave me a travel hand sanitizer that she was passing out, and another lady further moved me (and herself and her baby) up the line by explaining to the nurses that we had newborns and needed to get vaccinated as soon as possible so we could get home to feed them.

All in all I was there for about two hours.  When I was leaving they were well into handing numbers out in the high 300s or maybe even the 400s.  That said, I am now vaccinated against H1N1.  I am curious to see whether most people want to get the vaccine or not.

Are you going for the vaccine? Let me know by posting a comment, and/or take part in the poll below!

Things I accomplished today:

  • walked dog AND baby in the park (for the first time)- check
  • went to a “well baby” drop-in clinic to get Niko weighed – check (but it was closed due to nurses being reassigned to H1N1 vaccinations…)
  • received my Olympic Torchbearers uniform – check (Tell me, why did I order an xl???)
5 Responses to "The Vaccine: H1N1 4Every1?"

The H1N1 vaccine is a hot topic here in the USA. Some people have been anticipating its arrival and desperately looking for a place to get it while others are convinced it’s untested, unsafe and even possibly a government consipracy to kill us all. As for me, I decided to brave the conspiracy and much to my surprise, I had no problems getting it at all. I knew it was available in limited quantities and when my family doctor told me they had not received it yet, I went on an internet hunt. Turned out a clinic next to work was offering the vaccine so I immediately drove over. 15 minutes and $20 later, I was vaccinated. I later heard that over the course of that day, that same clinic ran out of the vaccine so I was glad I went when I did!

I’m glad you got to get it! People in Canada are having a really hard time and waiting in line for hours and then sometimes don’t even end up getting it…

[…] Think back to the Fall of 2009: you couldn’t turn on the TV or have a conversation without hearing or partaking in some sort […]

[…] she has recommended we not get him vaccinated at this time. But, if the strain is still out there in the Fall then that would be the time to go. Niko weighed in at just over 20lbs today which puts him at the […]

[…] Well, this H1N1 has really thrown a curve ball to checking the weight of my baby.  Normally in Ottawa, there are […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

