Parenting 2.0

Burping: Dry, Wet or Projectile?

Posted on: October 26, 2009

Along with feeding a baby comes the art of learning to burp one.  Will you burp your baby over your shoulder, over your knee, in a sitting position, or in some other newfangled way? Should your baby burp once, twice or for a set amount of time? Or perhaps your baby should burp the alphabet before settling down for a nap? Well, not really, but burping can be a challenge.  My sister Carolyn’s friend just adopted a baby in East Timor and her friend has been reading up about burping and particularly reading one book that states that the need to burp a baby is a myth! The book apparently goes on to say that a lot of cultures do not believe in burping and do not practice it.  Hmm,  I am not sure about that one, for now I will just continue on this burping learning curve of fun!

I was talking to my other sister Marion yesterday and our conversation went something like this:

Me: Do all babies spit up when they burp?

Marion: Well, no.  But all babies DO burp.  Some are dry burpers (which all three of her kids were), some are wet burpers and some are projectilers.

Me: Projectile burping! What?! I think mine is definitely a wet burper.

That said, it is just a matter of time between when Niko eats and then burps a juicy one! It’s just that burping takes time…and at 4am, I would sort of rather be sleeping.  For example, last night at 4, after he’d eaten AND burped, I lied him down to go back to sleep.  But, oh no, he had something else in mind.  It was another hour before he finally went back to sleep and countless times of me getting up, getting him up, trying different burping strategies, lying him back down, and then a couple of minutes later only to repeat the above cycle!

Despite the middle of the night frustrations, whenever I look down at that precious little baby (a.k.a. my son), I am in complete awe of what a wonder it is to have a baby!

One thing’s for sure, having a baby sure is a gas!  🙂

8 Responses to "Burping: Dry, Wet or Projectile?"

Hi Allie,

Marion gave me your link and I think it’s great – sure brought back alot of memories, especially since Olivia just turned 8! She was the queen of projectile burps!!! I went through about 4-5 receiving blankets a day and I swear more came up than went down. Anyways, glad to hear Niko is home and doing well! Your Mom sent pictures and he is beautiful!!

Jill xoxo

hi jill and allie — funny i should read your comments jill because olivia’s name is the exact one i mentioned in converstaion with allie the other night when i was trying to describe projectilers … i still remember her to a tee with respect to her burps … but more importantly her many great attributes!!:)
i literally had a chuckle reading your comment!
marion xoxo

Hey Jill, ha…thanks for the comment! I have also discovered that receiving blankets make good burp towels. They’re big and if placed correctly usually catch it all 🙂 I think Niko may have graduated to projectile burps intermittently! Fun…

Congrats on your new little niece! She is adorable!

xx A

Hi Alli! I did get the H1N1 vaccine yesterday as a health care worker….there were so many people…no numbers to take. We all had appointments that were for 6:15pm!!
Reading your blogs make me laugh!size XL for the run…buy lots of long john’s to fill it out! Maybe they will exchange it???Love Mom

i am now thinking of getting the uniform altered. even though I am technically not supposed to wear it yet, i wore it to a halloween party last night…and a friend suggested getting it altered…good idea really, because then i can wear it again!

why when i posted my comment did it say ‘ awaiting moderation’??!!!! was there something wrong with my honesty!!!
marion

[…] Why is it we spend the first year or so of our baby’s life wanting him to burp and teaching him to burp, and then end up discouraging this very behaviour for the rest of it? This […]

[…] is a topic I usually try to avoid in my blog. Actually there are two topics that I purposely avoid: puke and poop (although I and the rest of the parent blogging population could probably dedicate daily […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 352 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

