Parenting 2.0

here i am

Posted on: October 25, 2009

Bringing Niko HomeSo…now that I am on maternity leave I have decided to start a blog and post my daily thoughts and experiences. I have officially been a mom since September 15th 2009, when my son Niko was born just after 8 am. That day was a total surprise because he was born exactly four weeks before his due date and we weren’t exactly ready.

I mean we had intended to be ready, but only by the due date which was October 13th. Some people say the 13th is an unlucky day, so maybe it’s better off this way anyway. Regardless, we were having all new hardwood floors put in, in hopes that they would be installed before the birth of our son! Surprise surprise, you can’t always plan the birthday of your child! Needless to say we are so happy to have him, despite the early challenges of him being in intensive care for two weeks.

In a glimpse the last five weeks have gone like this:

1) I had planned to take a month off before the birth of Niko. My last day of scheduled work (regardless of the premature delivery – which of course we did not know about) was September 14th. He was born on September 15th just after 8am – at least I had a few hours off. 🙂

2) My mom – aka. superwoman extraordinaire – came up to stay with Borys (my hubby) and I for two weeks. She cooked, cleaned and supported me like a champ. Because I had a c-section I was super limited to what I could actually do, and she was there for all my needs and more! I seriously appreciate all she has done. I think she felt bad that Niko was in intensive care, or maybe she just didn’t get enough “Grandma time” in, but she also came back for another whole week, and is here with me right now: cleaning and cooking as I type – what a multi-tasker!

3) After my mom’s first two week stay, Borys took two weeks off and cooked, cleaned and supported me like a champ as well! And, of course, it was great to have some quality time together as a family!

4) Oh no…the baby is squirming, or grunting which is what he actually does more of than real crying. I better go see what the fuss is, but I think it means he’s HUNGRY!

5) Feeding him, sure does take a lot of time! But, man have I caught up on my TV! Rogers on Demand, has really introduced me to some new shows. Since the birth of Niko, I have caught up on and started watching: Glee, Mad Men, Melrose Place, 90210, Grey’s Anatomy, The Good Wife and of course the wonderful – My Super Sweet 16 – I wish I could have a party like that!

5 Responses to "here i am"

[…] Since Niko was born we have been taking video clips of him using my digital camera.  This week I finally got around to […]

[…] born via c-section exactly four weeks before his due date and ends up in the NICU for 13 days.  My mom comes to help out with the new baby for three weeks, and it is wonderful to have her experience, care and expertise […]

[…] it donned on me, seeing as Niko’s a mid-September baby and he spent the first two weeks of his life in the NICU he has never experienced natural Summer […]

[…] pieces that I saw of it for the second time, made me realize this was the movie that inspired me to start this blog), it really didn’t matter because Niko had other plans […]

[…] how challenging it would have been to look after two babies at the same time, especially when parenting was so new to […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 355 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Borys: You go girl!
  • alliwaw: Thanks Marion! Back to bball this Tuesday, so we will see how the wrist feels. Running, is a weekend thing...
  • Marion: Impressive, Sista! Always an inspiring one ... you are to me!! 10 km ... Not too shabby at all! Keep it up - does that mean the sore wrist is not

Categories

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

