Parenting 2.0

Week 7: Berry-Almond Quick Bread

Posted on: April 12, 2012

So many delectables to be had when experimenting in the kitchen. While perusing the Food Network site this week I read that,

“A recipe is merely words on paper; a guideline, a starting point from which to improvise. It cannot pretend to replace the practiced hand and telling glance of a watchful cook. When you cook it once, it becomes yours, so personalize it a bit. Remember words have no flavour, you have to add your own!”

Anyway, not sure how practiced my hand is (at least when it comes to cooking), or how telling my glance is (unless you’re talking about the teacher “stink-eye” because I like to think I have that honed to perfection…), but nonetheless all this kitchen experimentation is proving to be a good way to try lots of new flavours, as well as a good strategy for stocking my freezer (and my family’s tummies!). If it was up to Niko I think he would have liked to add half a cup of Cars to the recipe (see third pic below), but again, I’m not quite sure this is what it means to personalize a recipe.

This week on the menu: Berry-Almond Quick Bread (So good!) Niko, Stella and I doubled the recipe and cooked it at 360 for an hour – my oven runs a little hot!

Note:

52 WEEKS IN THE KITCHEN

Week 1: Strawberry Cake

Week 2: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Week 3: Carrot Applesauce Cookies

Week 4: Lemon Yogurt Anything Cake

Week 5: Chocolate Chickpea Cookies

Week 6: Protein Packed Smoothies

4 Responses to "Week 7: Berry-Almond Quick Bread"

I’m still in awe that you’re baking every week! I’m going to bake lemon poppy muffins this week with my toddler; I hope it all works out!

Wow that picture of Stella….thought it was Borys giving his serious look!

[...] Week 7: Berry-Almond Quick Bread Rate this: Share this:TwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tags: baking, kitchen, parenthood, parenting, SAHM, toddler [...]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 47 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

  • Sasha: I hate when people feel the need to touch my babies. I had a lady with dirty black hands (clearly doing either man work or gardening) hold hands with
  • Gramma: Mm...those do look good enough to eat! Must remember to have some ready for Niko's visit and for Daddy too.
  • Week 9: Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies « Parenting 2.0: [...] Week 8: Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies Rate this: Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tags: baking, parenthood, parenting, peanut b

Categories

My Tweet Life

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

