Parenting 2.0

Catch the Light

Posted on: March 26, 2010

A little haiku flavour to start things off…

***

snap happy mommy

takes photographs of her son

light shines in his eyes

***

A professional photographer I’m not, but playing around with our SLR, followed up by some Photoshop sessions has provided me with many hours of enjoyment (or is it frustration?). Well, enjoyment after I figured out how the heck to use Photoshop the way I wanted to, because actually learning Photoshop can be über frustrating, for an instant gratification gal such as myself. And learning and getting help from my lovely, tech-hubby, Borys has even instigated a few “fun” discussions between the two of us. “Fun” in quotes, because at the time they’re not really fun. What I mean is, ever helpful Computer Borys can’t help but go into a lot of tech. detail, while all I’m looking for is the single answer to help me move the process along. Yes, say hello to a glimmer of my instant gratification personality.  But I digress… Beyond Photoshop, I’ve taken to reading some photography blogs as well – collecting tidbits of information and photo strategies to help me along my Nikon journey.

Since the birth of our son Niko (last September) I have been thinking about getting professional pictures taken of him, but thinking about it seems to be about as far as I’ve gotten. I just can’t make a decision on where or if I actually want to get them taken at all. Both Borys and I like natural looking photos, and anyway it’s been a constant thought process.

The other day I was surfing the net and came across a photography blog that discussed catchlight. I had never heard of it (and I can’t find the link, otherwise I would link it to this article) but it talked about catching the light that is reflected in your subject’s eyes on film (well actually not on film seeing as we live in a digital world, but you get the picture…).

So a couple of days ago, in my second amateur attempt at professional photography I snapped a tonne (gotta love the digital age) of portraits of Niko and succeeded in catching the light in his eyes (in a few of them). I just love how I can be super snap-happy and not worry about wasting film!

Below are a few photos of my take on his six-month professional portraits.

10 Responses to "Catch the Light"

OK, these pictures are AWESOME! You totally don’t need professional shots.

Pretty pictures, handsome model!

Look at his eyes… please catch the light in his eyes in colour.

Rare are those with such great blue eyes! :)

hey “al” thanks for visiting and thanks for the comment, cheers, A

This last picture (sleeping Niko) .. it is stunning to me. I congratulate you Alli…:))

thanks so much – i like that one too – so peaceful – he is actually closing his eyes from the sun, even though it looks like he’s sleeping… :)

Hey Allison! Those pictures are awesome! I have yet to get that elusive cathlight photo! What a photographer! Maybe this is your million dollar idea?!

Miss you and Niko!

i have decided to stop chasing the million dollar idea and go for a multi million dollar idea – if i can turn this hobby into that, that would be amazing – after all there’s not much competition for photography right? ;)

thanks for the comment! See you soon, A

Love the sleeping one….so true that the boys always get the stunning eyelashes.

there is something very calming about that photo – i really have been having lots of fun with our slr – i just love how i can snap SO many pics!

thanks for visiting and thanks for the comment, xx

[...] skills were adequate, and with my ego suitably stroked I believed him. Little Niko was then left to my own devices and the best I could do with the camera I had. And what did we end up with? A Newborn-Hugh-Heffner of sorts: yes, little Niko became memorialized [...]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 49 other followers

Like this blog? Vote for it! Just click on the brown box below for one vote. Thanks!

Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Categories

My Tweet Life

Alli & Baby Niko

Top Rated

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

